The Curated Closet Series | Days 10 & 11 | After Work Outfits & Mini Target Haul

The past two days have opened my eyes to dressing in regular casual wear after work instead of PJs or super soft leggings.

Day 10: After work errand

I had to drive back to work for an errand right after dinner. It’s been getting chilly here at night lately, so I wanted to make sure I chose something that would be comfortable for a dark night drive, but also keep me warm as I walked between the building and my car. I immediately grabbed for my favorite pullover and jeans and headed for the door. I didn’t want to have to think about putting on socks, so I grabbed my flats as I left the bedroom.

My jeans were still rolled from when I wore them on Day 6 with my booties and since I was somewhat in a hurry, I didn’t bother to unfold them. I think they look nice and more polished while rolled up like this rather than having them folded and still bunched a bit at the ankle. These jeans are seriously the longest jeans I think I’ve ever purchased.

Underneath the pullover, I’m just wearing a t-shirt from a race I ran recently. Like I said, comfort was key. I only planned on seeing one person at work during my errand, so style wasn’t high on my list of priorities, however this outfit makes me feel comfy and sort of put together, which is better than some other things I’ve worn after work when just staying home.

Day 11: More after work errands

I don’t normally run errands (or leave the house, really) after work, especially two nights in a row. I guess this week was just one of those weeks when you do the errands and wear the same jeans over and over – no judging, right?

I have been waiting for the perfect moment to pull out this flannel. Honestly, I don’t know what I was thinking by buying this flannel and living in the south, but I liked it when I saw it on the Tradlands website and, who am I kidding, I love flannel and just the thought of cold weather. Tradlands is my new favorite brand. They are a company that focuses on ethically made button-up shirts for women inspired by menswear and made in the USA. They expanded their selection in 2016 to include high quality t-shirts, crew neck sweatshirts, and utility jackets as well. I now own three shirts from this company, and I really love each one of them. I am pretty geeked for their spring line to launch in March. This evening was the perfect time to wear this flannel. It was in the mid-40s and I didn’t want to bring a jacket. I was warm without feeling bogged down by a jacket. I feel so efficient when I can accomplish feeling warm enough and cool enough with just one layer.

I needed to go to Target to get a few pots for some baby spider plants that my coworker gave me off of his giant spider plant. I also wanted to look for face lotion and possibly a face mask and lip balm because my face has been super dry lately. Not a surprise, I found everything I needed!

day11_3_edited

I found these cute pots in the small garden/wooden decorations/fake plant aisle and thought they would be the perfect size for my baby plants and look great at work and in different places at the house. I wasn’t a big plant-lover until recently. My family never really had a lot of plants in the house growing up, so I just wasn’t used to having them around and caring for them. My coworker has taught me a whole bunch about watering and fertilizer and proper amounts of sunlight. It turns out it’s not all that hard! I love having plants around. It not only filters some of the air, but just lifts my mood. I now have four plants at home and five plants at work. And that is just the beginning 🙂

After I found my new pots, I went over to the natural beauty section of the makeup and skincare island. As part of my journey to a more sustainable life, I want to make sure the products I’m using do not depend on synthetic manufacturing to fill the ingredients list. I want products that have natural ingredients and list names that I can recognize.

I was able to walk away with just three natural beauty/skincare items that I couldn’t wait to try when I got home.

  1. Shea Moisture Peace Rose Oil Complex Sensitive Skin Facial Moisturizer \\ link
  2. Burt’s Bees Vanilla Bean 100% Natural Lip Balm \\ link
  3. Andalou Naturals Instant Hydration Hydro Serum Facial Sheet Mask \\ link

My skin feels GREAT today. I used the face mask after showering last night and applied a bit of the moisturizer after rinsing my face this morning. I’ve been carrying the lip balm in my pocket all day long and it’s kept my lips as smooth as they can be while they are still peeling (unfortunately) from dryness, etc. I’ll be traveling next week and definitely plan to bring a travel-size pot of the moisturizer along with an extra face mask in case I need a mid-travel refresh. I love that all of these products are made with ingredients that I understand and contain no alcohol or sulfates. The sheet mask is even compostable and the moisturizer comes in a glass (reusable!) container. I am still new to the green beauty and skincare movement, but I like to think I am moving in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

