This is my ultimate fall/winter weekend outfit formula. Every piece is soft and allows me to move, while the layers add some fun color and depth. We saw a movie and I was completely comfortable the entire time. That is except for the part where I had to leave mid-movie to go to the restroom because I had gulped down an entire Nalgene of water 30 minutes prior to leaving for the theater. Pro tip: don’t drink an entire liter of water in less than 5 minutes if you are going to have to be sitting still for an extended period of time. In my defense, I was concerned I wasn’t drinking enough water throughout the day, so I thought I would make up for it.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Anyways…..

This jacket is the same jacket from my Day 5 Date Night ensemble. I am glad to have found a way to wear it with another top. Really, it’s more like I’ve rediscovered this jacket during this 14-day exercise and I’m glad I have. It’s a great mid-thickness layer that’s perfect for fall everywhere else and all winter here in the deep south. I can see myself wearing this jacket in more “after work” activities and during the evenings on weekends.

The scarf is one I’ve had for a long time. I believe it’s originally from American Eagle. I wore this scarf almost every day during the winter in college and I like to wear it skiing when I need to make sure my lips and nose are covered. It’s warm and thick, but it is a little scratchy. I’ve gotten used to it. I love the pattern and color and it’s not too flashy, so I think I can wear it for years to come.

I’m so glad I discovered this shirt and other shirts of this brand through ThredUp. I am getting more into button down shirts for business casual and casual casual wear. I think they just bring a bit of class to an outfit. The brand is Cloth & Stone. I had never heard of them before, but they have the softest and easiest to wear shirts. I like to wear this one because it’s definitely on the shorter side and it’s soft and just a bit flowy. I like that I don’t need to tuck in the front or wear a cami underneath. I can’t find much on the brand in general because it looks like the brand is mostly sold through other retailers like Anthropolgie and Belk, Nordstrom, etc. I would be interested to know more about the brand. Let me know in the comments if you have any good info!

Last for above the waist, the necklace. I got this necklace while shopping in Covington, LA with a friend. We stopped in this boutique called Turkoyz and were amazed by the sheer amount of jewelry! Check out their Facebook page here. We spent a good hour or two just searching and re-searching through all of the items. I found a BUNCH of Christmas gifts here for some females on my list and this little necklace for myself. I love wearing it because it’s a nice size and a little bit rugged with some sparkle. It’s a piece I like to throw on when my outfit just needs a little something.

The jeans I’m wearing are my favorite jeans. They’re a dark blue wash and stretchy, but they definitely keep their shape. I am able to wash them after a few wears without them becoming super baggy or weird (as some stretchy jeans may do). They’re a bit too long for me, so I have to roll them, even when I’m not wearing heeled booties. I’ve considered getting them hemmed, but I just haven’t. Maybe someday. The color allows me to wear these jeans with just about every top in my wardrobe. I can’t even think of anything right now that I wouldn’t wear with them. I only have one pair of jeans in this wash, and I think that’s all I really need.

Lastly, I’m wearing my booties. No fun socks this time, though. These booties take my outfits a step further in style, I think. You can read more about these booties in my previous post. I love that Tom’s has expanded to include booties and more trendy styles like these boots. It makes me feel so great when someone asks me about them and I say, “They’re Tom’s!” I love being able to give back through my purchases.

Style Recap:

Jacket: Anthropologie | see my previous post for alternative brands for similar jackets

Top: Cloth & Stone via ThredUp | from what I can tell, ThredUp has a good bit of this brand

Necklace: Turkoyz in Covington, LA | it’s always a good idea to shop small; not only will you have a more unique item, but it will certainly mean a great deal to the shop owner that you bought his/her piece

Jeans: Anthropologie | take a look at Mud Jeans – super sustainable jeans! I think my next pair will most likely come from this company.

Boots: Tom’s

What are your favorite jeans? Do you have an ultimate wash or cut? These jeans are mid-rise straight cut and I love them.

Until next time,

Lauren

2 thoughts on “The Curated Closet Series | Day 6 | Casually Cool

Leave a Reply

