The Curated Closet Series | Day 5 | Painting & Sushi

Today was all about being an adult. I went to the dentist, we painted part of the upstairs of our house, some guy from a roof company came over to look at our roof, and we went on date night. Needless to say, most of those things required an outfit change. So, today I have not one, not two, but three(!) combos to show you. It’s like better than BOGO day at the grocery store, right?

Outfit 1: teeth cleaning

The weather is starting to get colder here, however it’s certainly nothing like the winters that the rest of my friends and family are experiencing. Winter here varies between 35 degrees to 85 degrees F. Variation in my wardrobe is absolutely necessary.

I wanted an outfit I could put together quickly since my appointment was before 9AM, so what did I go for? Oh right, solid colors with subtle patterns. I love these jeans for how casual they are. I can’t even remember the last time I owned a pair of light wash jeans. They are perfect for the weekend! I like that they’re a little bit baggy, too. It makes them comfy for sitting in the car, walking around, running errands, and anything else. The maroon shirt I’m wearing is actually a shirt I received as a bridesmaid gift for my friend Angela’s wedding. There’s a cute gold decal proclaiming me as one of her #bridetribe on the upper left chest that she put there herself! The jacket is one I purchased from LLBean a few months ago. I get so many comments on it. It’s long and army green and wonderful. It’s cinched at the waist and has a huge hood. All the better to fit my big head and hair. The scarf is actually a blanket scarf and is the softest ever. I love using it for traveling because I can unroll it and cover myself up for a nap. The shoes are off brand Keds/Vans from Target. I have had them for a while and wear them a lot. They’re super broken in and I hope to keep them around as my “street” shoes.

Pants: Lucky brand thrifted from ThredUp – they always have new pairs just like this one; use my referral link to get $10 when you sign up

Shirt: Gift (sustainably made alternative)

Jacket: LL Bean (inspired by the army jacket in this Youtube vid – I love this channel!)

Scarf: Gap (or check out this website on how to diy a blanket scarf and use upcycled fabric if you can/want)

Shoes: Target (ethically made and vegan option)

Outfit 2: painting

I’ll be honest. I forgot to grab a pic of myself in this get-up before I took it off to take a shower. I was desperate to get to date night! I’m sure you can understand.

Day5_2.jpg

So, for this lovely combo, I grabbed a t-shirt that Clay had thrown in his “trash” pile while going through his clothes and some super cheap shorts I got from ThredUp a few months ago. I thought they would be great summer shorts, but they were more worn and permanently wrinkled than I thought based on the pictures online. Since I already donated/trashed all of my older workout short bottoms that I no longer liked, I figured I could claim these the “painting shorts.” They’re perfect fit for their new role.

I debated talking about this outfit in this post, but I convinced myself include it all. Also, the point of this exercise is to document what you wear for the 14 days. I certainly wore this for more than a few hours on this day, so here it is. I don’t feel one way or another about it. It does its job. While we were painting, the roofing guy came over and I wasn’t rushing to my closet to throw on a robe or a sweatshirt. It is what it is.

Outfit 3: sushi date night!

This outfit as been in my life for about a year now, and I love putting these four pieces together. I normally don’t wear all black, but this outfit makes me feel pretty stylish. You can also see the nice new gray walls! They look white in the picture, but I promise they’re gray.

Day5_1.jpg

Everything except for the boots are from Anthropologie. My mom and I put together this number when we went into the new Anthro in my hometown during the weekend of my bridal shower. It was a nice break from all things wedding. The boots are about 3 or 4 years old from Target (I think), and they’re pretty scuffed on the toes. Like, I said though, scuffs and all, this is an outfit I love and one I wish I wore more often.

The shirt is a long sleeveless tunic shape with some cool silver and black thread details on the front. I haven’t had the chance (or really tried, I guess) to wear it with any other outfit. Now that I think about it, I could probably wear it well with my dark blue jeans. I think it would go best with tighter pants in general. That might be a nice going-out-outfit for a summer/early fall evening.

The boots are just super comfy and I love the tall and slouched look. I don’t wear them as often as I used to, but I still keep them around. I can’t tell if I still really like them or not or if I just haven’t found the right pair of tall black boots to replace them.

The jacket is one I hope to grab for more often. It’s not very thick, but definitely keeps me a bit warmer than if I were just wearing a cardigan. It has some unique features that I really like, too, like the collar. The only downside is that it has super long zipper pull leather pieces. I like to play with them to keep my hands busy, which usually ends up with me having black tipped fingers that smell like a combination of leather and metal.

Top: Anthropologie (check out this upcycled boho option, or this similar one made ethically and eco-friendly)

Jacket: Anthropologie (similar made eco-friendly, more expensive option made in America & vegan & eco-friendly)

Pants: Anthropologie (wrote about these in my Day 2 post)

Boots: Target (ethically made tall black booties – definitely on my wishlist!)

Here’s a quick peek at my sushi! Yes, it has strawberries. And yes, it is DELICIOUS!

Let me know in the comments if you like to shop at ThredUp or if you have thrifted anything recently that’s become a new staple in your wardrobe. I love to hear about new second-hand places!

See y’all tomorrow,

Lauren

3 thoughts on “The Curated Closet Series | Day 5 | Painting & Sushi

Leave a Reply

