an easy first step to a sustainable wardrobe

My second ThredUp order arrived in the mail late last week and I thought this would be a great time to write a post about it and why I really like shopping at this online fashion store. This is my second order from this website. I purchased 11 items including some shoes and a bunch of tops and a jacket this time around and for only $54! WUT.

Yes, my friends. Some of the discounted price was due to “store credits” I had in my account including funds for returning some items from my first order as well as the 13 items that I sold to the website via the Clean Out Bag.

When I completed the order, ThredUp let me know approximately what I would have spent if I had bought all of the items at brand new retail price. My retail price for my latest order? Over $400. My cost without the account credits? Just around $200. Even then, I was able to save at least 50%, which is a pretty good deal if you ask me.

dsc_0011

Not only is buying secondhand clothing (through this website or any other means) a bargain for your wallet, you are also making a choice for sustainability with your purchase. Buying secondhand clothes, or other items, doesn’t support the manufacture of brand new goods. Reuse and recycle, right?

Don’t get me wrong, I know you’re probably thinking right now that whatever this so called ThredUp website sells isn’t fashionable or on trend. It can’t be, right? WRONG. Although, sure, there are some eclectic items on there and some outdated handbag choices, most of the items are trendy and new. A good bit of them even still have the original price tags attached.

I was never one to go thrift store shopping. I also didn’t really like having to search through racks of clothes to look for what I wanted. This website, though, has changed that for me. It’s the thrill of the find, and at a good price!

While the clothes sold on ThredUp are all in all from the fast fashion industry, including brands like Merona (Target), H&M, Forever 21, J. Crew, and Express, purchasing them secondhand satisfies tier #5 from my Diamond Diagram (see my previous post for more on this system).

It’s easy choices, like buying secondhand clothes, that make living a more sustainable life that more achievable. We don’t always have to buy brand new (and usually more pricey) organic cotton blouses. Having some secondhand items in your closet allows you to add that newness to your wardrobe without dropping the $$ and supporting factory labor and pollution resulting from the manufacturing of new materials. Win, win, win!

Feel free to use my referral code to sign up and get $10 toward your order ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Secondhand fashion isn’t the only way that I am working towards an ethical/eco friendly wardrobe. Stay tuned for future posts on sustainable fashion.

Where else do you like to look for secondhand items? What other ways do you make easy, doable sustainable choices? Leave me a comment!

See ya later,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

