first things first

I want to share with you all where I am in my style/fashion journey before I start posting on more specific topics like hauls, recommended brands, and the like.

I feel like I am somewhat behind the times for just starting to learn about ethical/eco fashion, but better late than never, right? I think my ethical fashion understanding began earlier this year while I was browsing Instagram and YouTube for new people to follow. I honestly can’t even remember what started it all, but since discovering this new world of fashion, beauty, and lifestyle, I haven’t been able to stop going deeper and deeper into it.

Now, realize that my closet is not completely transformed to be this super minimalist wardrobe with expensive ethical-made-in-America pieces. That would be almost against the whole point of an ethical/sustainable lifestyle – to throw away what you have in order to buy new. However, I have committed (to myself) that the pieces I do bring into my life will check off two items from my Diamond Diagram from Wear No Evil: How to Change the World with Your Wardrobe by Greta Eagan.

For those that are unfamiliar, Greta talks about a concept she calls the Diamond Diagram, which is basically a list of four fashion-related ethical or environmental issues that you want to use to help build your edited wardrobe. Well, the list is really five items long, but the first is always style (because you wouldn’t buy a piece of clothing if you didn’t think it was stylish, right?). My Diamond Diagram (list) includes:

  1. Style
  2. Made in America
  3. Ethically made (no sweatshops)
  4. Organic and/or ethically sourced fabrics
  5. Secondhand/reused fabrics (reducing waste & minimizing need for manufacture of new goods)

My list is in no particular order and I don’t necessarily value #2 over #4 for example, but I do make sure that each new piece I bring into my wardrobe satisfies at least two of the items. I know that’s not much, considering one will always be style, but it’s a start! So, now you know my conscious wardrobe story and it will hopefully give you an understanding of my experience on the subject and my excitement about it as well as laying the foundation for my future fashion-related posts.

Have you read the Wear No Evil book? What are the categories in your Diamond Diagram? Are there other ethical fashion books, blogs, and documentaries that you recommend? Leave me a comment in the comments section!

Until next time,

lauren

One thought on “first things first

Leave a Reply

